Akash Deep's Root Dismissal: MCC Weighs In on No-Ball Controversy

Tuesday - 08/07/2025 03:04
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the England-based governing body responsible for cricket laws, has confirmed that Akash Deep's delivery, which dismissed Joe Root in the second Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy Test, was legal.

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has officially settled the debate surrounding Akash Deep's delivery that dismissed Joe Root in the second Test of the Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy. The MCC, the ultimate authority on cricket laws, has confirmed the delivery was entirely legal.

Joe Root and Akash Deep face off.
ENG vs IND: MCC settles debate, rules Akash Deep's delivery to Joe Root legal (AP Photo)

The delivery, which resulted in a clean bowl of England's captain Joe Root, ignited intense discussion after replays suggested Deep's back foot might have landed outside the return crease – a potential no-ball.

Initial Doubts and Expert Opinions

Following the dismissal, commentators and cricket enthusiasts debated the legality of the delivery. Alison Mitchell, commentating on BBC Test Match Special, pointed out that Deep's back foot appeared to land outside the return crease.

Former England batsman Jonathan Trott echoed this sentiment. However, Ravi Shastri, India's then head coach, expressed confidence that the delivery was fair. The on-field umpires and third umpire did not intervene, further fueling the debate.

MCC's Official Ruling

The MCC's clarification puts an end to the speculation.

An MCC spokesperson stated:

"On Day four of India's Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law."

The MCC referenced Law 21.5.1, which dictates that a fair delivery requires the bowler's back foot to land "within and not touching the return crease" during the delivery stride.

Key Point of Contact

The MCC emphasized the crucial detail concerning the bowler's foot placement:

"MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball."

The spokesperson elaborated:

"Clearly, at the point Deep's foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery."

Impact on the Match

Root's dismissal proved to be a pivotal moment in the match. It reduced England to 50 for 3 while chasing a target of 608. England was eventually bowled out for 271, resulting in a 336-run victory for India, leveling the five-match series 1-1.

Total notes of this article: 0 in 0 rating

Click on stars to rate this article
You did not use the site, Click here to remain logged. Timeout: 60 second